Posted in Adulting, Christianity, Daily Prompt, Thoughts, What happened?, Writings

Am I poor?

We were Bible reading one night and I told my kids that we should be always grateful for whatever we have now. 

I mentioned everything we have. Health, house, car, TVs (we have more than 1 TV), fridge, electric drum, keyboard, etc. I usually ask them to say 10 things they’re grateful for that day. 

It’s not as easy as it seems to mention 10 things everyday. Especially when you have a routine days. Nothing’s special to remember. Everyday just doing the same things make us ‘numb’. 

It’ll be easy when they’re at school. They usually mentioned about the teacher, friends, exam results, homework, or any other school related. But when it come to summer, no school day for more than 2 months, they lost words. 

At first, they mentioned about being able to play games everyday. It’s special for them, coz on school days, they can only play on weekends. But then they get tired of mentioning the same thing over and over again. 

One night, Al was mentioning his gratitude… “I am grateful for our house. We have a big house. But my fridge is empty”. 

I was a bit sad that he could think that way. After we all mentioned our gratitude, I talk to them about Al’s gratitude. I asked him, the reason he said like that. Even though it is not a figure of speech. We literally have no food in the fridge. Still, I need to know what’s in my son’s little brain yet not small minded at all. 

He asked me back, “Are we poor mom?”. Hmmm 🤔 Are we? If I open the fridge, I could say we have not enough money to fill the fridge with weeks of food and snacks. But because of that, can I say that we’re poor? 

I don’t post a vacation nor a fancy eating out on social media, coz we don’t have enough money to vacationing nor eating out in a fancy restaurant. I don’t post any expensive gifts to our friends or family. Can I say that we’re poor? 

I’m a stay at home mom that has her planner full of cleaning schedule and organization home projects. Nothing’s fancy about that. I post frugal lifestyle, frugal haul, frugal diy, and everything else frugally. Can I say that we’re poor? 

Well… I’m a frugal in nature. But life had us stuck in a non frugal lifestyle. Thinking that eating out everyday was A Okay. Thinking that buying expensive gifts was a must in order to satisfied that person. Thinking that living frugally is the same as poor, and you’ll feel ashamed of people knowing​ that you’re poor. 

Being poor is a curse. When you’re poor, you’ll have no friends. No family will want to hang out with you. Then you’ll start living a lie. Hoping that if you’re not frugal, people would think that you’re not poor. You start living the life of a ‘rich’ people. 

Can I say that we’re poor? 

Well… I don’t really care what you think. I don’t live for you. I don’t ask free money from you. I will find another friend that will support me even if I’m ‘poor’. If you think that me living frugally means​ that I’m poor. Then you can say that I’m poor. And if you don’t wanna hangout​ with poor people like me, I’m A Okay with that 👌 

We bring our own food, we don’t eat out expensive way, we thrift, we (sometimes) don’t have food in the fridge, we don’t stock up on snacks, we save gas, we stay at home most of the summer. Can I say that we’re poor? 

No! We are the children of God. God Almighty, who controls the universe, who provides, who anointed us with poor proof. I am never be poor. My God provides, each day, without fail. 

“Give us this day, our daily bread”. THIS DAY. OUR DAILY BREAD. Jesus teach us to be humble. To be grateful for what you have TODAY. Coz tomorrow has its own trouble. 

Live in the moment. Live in a grateful lifestyle, when being poor is not​ your destiny that God has settled for you. 

Author:

An ordinary mom trying to do my bit of everything in the best way I could

Leave a Reply

